top of page

(My) Humans of Ghana Pt. VII


"You see, There's a lot to say about being the chief in Yagha. The chief before me was very good man, he stopped bush burning and let a lot of children go to school. No one wanted to replace him. Everyone else is working abroad, so i'm the one who is here in Yagha. I was in school to become a teacher while they were picking the person so the stress was so much. I had to be in Wa for school but also come back for meetings. I finally graduated and they named me chief around the same time but i have other stress now. I am very young and unmarried so this is hard i need a wife. Also, i need to do my national service for teaching and we are afraid they will move me out of Yagah. So these are fears we have. I am 35 years, i need to start having children. Our children will be doctors and lawyers and nurses and bank tellers and a few will be farmers so we can eat. I know we will get married someday, you will stay in Yagha forever. The 17 children will live with us in the chiefs palace and support us when we are old. So we need to start having kids now. Why are you laughing, I'm serious!" - Chief of Yagha

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page