top of page

(My) Humans of Ghana Pt. II


"Today is my father's funeral. My real real father not one of my uncle's or something. I loved him and so do all these people here. They came because they miss him. They came out of respect for me and my family. Do you see all these beads around me? Each one was given to me by someone new and it means they see that I'm suffering, that I'm sad my dad is gone. Everyone will come and stay with my family outside here for 3 days. The body will stay under the tent for 2 days, all day and all night the people will sing and dance and cry around the body, they will sleep here too. On the 3rd day we will bury the body. This funeral isn't like the other ones, my father was very traditional, he was respected the most for that. So they will be doing some things that you've never seen before (later they brought out a stick with a human skull on it), but please just watch, don't ask questions. JuJu shouldn't be talked about. It won't hurt you if you respect it. Now you go dance, I want to see you dance the local one for my father." -Madame Alice

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page